As a general rule, I don’t argue or debate the gospel of Christ. The word of God will stand on its own. One of the things I loathe when it comes to sharing the Bible scriptures is a person who chooses to use scriptures to ‘win an argument. What is the point?

A few weeks ago, a man I considered my best friend, caught me off guard with one of his new revelations. Granted, he is known for his flight by night antics. He does chase the wind. But this made me fear for his soul.

He came to me proud—boasting—that he no longer watched sports, TV or listened to music. He had no use for worldly things.

“I’m at peace with the world,” he said. “I have nothing but love for everyone.”

This part made me smile. I was happy for him. After all, I too have a bad habit of diluting myself into believing that everyone is full of love. In Jessica’s perfect world, everyone is full of love for each other. Everyone is happy. (Of course, we know that won’t really happen until heaven…)

“That’s beautiful! Not everyone can put away those things,” I congratulated him.

He proceeded to tell me how full of evil sports, TV, music and social interaction really were. I listened for a few minutes agreeing with some. The more he talked, the more I got the ‘holier than thou’ vibe from him. Finally, he sealed the deal.

“I have been casting out demons. I live in peace. I don’t associate with demonic things anymore. I’m doing things that are right. I’m glad I’m not living in a demonic world anymore.”

I had to get him to elaborate. “That’s good. I agree a lot of the things we see as entertainment are evil. But it sounds like you’re bragging about how good you are and how evil the world is.”

“The world is evil. And, I know I’m good because I am at peace. The Bible says you will know them by their fruits. I have cast out demons and ministered to my neighbors. I know I’m going to heaven.”

“You know, the Bible does say we will know them by their fruits. But it is important to understand what kind of fruit. Jim Jones and David Koresh had many followers. Would that be considered fruit?”

He went on to point out all of the ‘evil’ things he wasn’t doing anymore, including cheering for his favorite football team. I was becoming annoyed. Finally, I had enough. I had to speak.

“All of the things that you are doing or not doing that brings you peace, is a good thing. I’m happy for you.  The Bible says let no man judge you in meat or drink or in feast days or holy days (Col 2:16-23). If it condemns you, I applaud you for having to strength to stay away from it. My friend remember, that you can brag about how clean you are and never turn on another TV for the rest of your life. But if your faith alone is not in Jesus Christ’s gift of salvation, you will go to hell along with the bad elements you are trying to cleanse. God says by grace through faith we are saved and not of works, lest any man should boast (Ephesians 2:8-9). And it sounds like you’re doing a lot of boasting and little believing.”

He thought for a few minutes. Then he tried to insult me.

“The Bible also says ‘suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence’. We are to love one another and be at peace.”

I replied, “Friend, I am at peace in knowing that when I have to give an account for this day before my Father, I can humbly say ‘God, I tried’.”

I knew then continuing the conversation would be moot. I had shared with him what was on my heart to share. But he wasn’t hearing the word of God; he was bust listening to me, the woman.

I am still praying for my friend. His intentions may be honorable but we have to remember that our so called ‘good works’ will get us nowhere if our faith is not placed in Christ.

But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.         Isaiah 64:6

