One of the things I struggle with is letting go. I have a hard time accepting the things I cannot change. I have worn the serenity prayer out. Most times, it does nothing for me, except serve as some pretty words.

A few of my friends have told me that I have ‘the Jesus complex’. I try to fix everything. If someone I know has a problem, immediately I’m thinking of how to help. A lot of us do this. We want to make it all better. We just want to help or be a blessing. We may think this is righteous or even that our hearts are in the right place. But it’s not. The truth is, and to be terribly frank, it’s just, well…stupid.

Sorry, but it is.

This micromanager, no one can make it without me, I have to solve it all attitude is only a lack of faith. Playing Mr. or Ms. Fix It all of the time, not knowing when to let go and give it to God, shows weakness not strength.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

Now, it is wonderful to be concerned and show love to our fellow man. As Christians, it is our duty to help others and pray for them etc. But none of us can take on the duties of Christ. No one can do it all. We are the ambassadors of Jesus Christ until He returns. Our help to other has limits. Only God gives grace freely, wholly and unlimited.

My vain efforts to be the ‘go to person’ have put me in the hospital more than once. Stress, headaches and total frustration with people are some of the side effects of trying to bare this burden. We cannot be anyone’s savior. That position was filled long ago. (John 3:16)

I am learning to let go and give it to God.

(1 Peter 5:6-7) Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

I am learning to ask for wisdom to know when to jump in and when to release. It is not only for the good of the situation or person but for mine as well. (James 1:5-6)

It turns out that reading the beautiful serenity prayer is not enough. We must also live it!

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him forever in the next.

Amen.

 

 

Grace and peace.

Blessings and love.

 

 

