I’m sad to say that I can understand how easy it is for one’s heart to turn to stone. We live in a cold world. It’s so cold that the very fact is a cliché. But it is sadder to know that even your brothers and sisters in Christ are even icier.

I’ll admit sometimes I wish I could just use people for what I need or want and keep it moving. It happens so often, it looks easy. But my conscience, my heart, the Holy Spirit in me, won’t allow me to so. I feel guilty just thinking about it.

I’m far from perfect. Trust me; I have done things in which I am ashamed. But like so many of my brothers and sisters, I have a love for people. I want to help them. Nourish them. I’d give my all and my last if I could. God knows that’s the truth. Anyone who knows me can witness to this fact.

But I wonder how do we get so wrapped up on our flesh that we forget to love each other, unconditionally.

Agape love.

I have had recent cases where people I loved, brothers and sisters in the Lord, who could have helped me but refused. But with the same hand, reached out for my assistance, vanishing after there need was filled.

It happens too often. And good clean hearts can easily turn into stone with this kind of treatment. I considered taking on this attitude.

“From now on, I’m looking out for me and only me. No one is going to mistake my kindness for weakness ever again,” I said to myself.

These thoughts were fueled by pain and heartbreak. I knew it was wrong. But God how do I avoid people like this? How do I tell the difference being naivety and charity?

I came across some verses that helped. They blessed and refilled my heart. When I read them, I truly felt sorry for the “users”. I hope it blesses you too.

 Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which despitefully use you. Luke 6:28

For the Lord taketh pleasure in his people: he will beautify the meek with salvation. Psalms 149:4

Before destruction the heart of man is haughty, and before honour is humility. Proverbs 18:12

Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time 1 Peter 5:6

But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; Matthew 5:44

 

 

I loathe when people use others. It’s one of those things that anger me. It just breaks my heart. However, here’s the kicker.

I want to be used.

But, only by my Father, the Lord Jesus Christ. These days, I have a new prayer. I ask the Lord to use me in any way that He wants to use me. I am His. I only ask for strength and courage to do His Will.

 Will you join me? Perhaps, by faith, we can put a dent in the cycle.

Grace and peace. Blessings and love.

