Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Friends, family, readers,

Lately, I have been put through tests of all sorts, both on a personal and professional level. While I won’t bore you all with the details, I can say that it has been enough to make one throw in the towel completely. Had all of this happened five years ago (before I was saved), I probably would have done just that. Challenges come when you least expect it. They are right around the corner just when you think you have it all together. You have it all figured out and you finally have that peace that you have wanted so long. Then, the enemy comes in like a thief in the night to steal from you.

Typical satan.

This morning, I get a text message with another piece of bad news. It seems that’s all I’m getting lately. Ironically enough, I was sitting at my computer reading jokes online just to get a little laugh. Then I begin to think about the word “strength”. What is it? Where does it come from? How does one get it? How does one loose it?

The Bible verse in Philippians 4:13 came to mind. You know the one. “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

But what happens when you don’t feel that verse? What do you do when none of the encouraging Bible verses are helping? What happens when you feel like God is not enough?

I know. I know. That’s blasphemous, right? But if you are really honest with yourself, all of us have felt this way at some point in our lives. All of us have had a “giving it all up” moment. For whatever reason, this is a time when Philippians 4:13 is not helping at all. This is a time when your strength feels depleted and you know not what to do.

Where do we go from here?

People who truly know me, often comment on and give me accolades for my “strength”. My ability to hold things up in my family when things are falling apart. I suppose knowing that people depend on me and expect me to be the “rock” encourages me to do just that. But isn’t that pressure? When we depend on others, we tend to forget that they too sometimes need help. It’s not our fault that we forget. It’s like walking across a bridge. We don’t think about that foundation that is under water, holding that bridge up. We just trust and depend on the fact that the bridge will hold us up.

I may be rambling now, so I’ll get back to my question. What do we do when we feel like all of our strength is gone?

The gospel singer, Donnie McClurkin, answers this question in his song “Stand”. And that’s the answer: stand.

What do we stand on? Our foundation of course, the word of God. We must study daily (as we eat daily) to keep that strength.(1 Chronicles 16:11) It is necessary in our daily walk with the Lord. The word of the Lord should never cease to encourage, love and strengthen us. When we find that it is not enough (as I came close to recently), that is when we “eat” (study) fervently to show ourselves approved and to rebuild that strength.’

2 Corinthians 4:14-18

14 Knowing that he which raised up the Lord Jesus shall raise up us also by Jesus, and shall present us with you.

15 For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many redound to the glory of God.

16 For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day.

17 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;

18 While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

