A few nights ago, I spent a couple of hours on YouTube watching videos of “old school” gospel music. I’d be the first to call myself old fashioned and proud of it. I prefer these older melodies to the “new” gospel music that we have today. There is nothing like that sound. The right song will take you back to church and not the new, all inclusive congregations where the music is more like a rock concert. Uh-huh! I’m talking about a hand clapping, foot stomping, tambourine jiggling sound where everybody joined in and it sounded like melodies from heaven. That’s what I call gospel music.

I’m the only person living in this body, so I can only attest to how I feel when I listened to Grace and Mercy by the Mississippi Mass Choir last night. The words spoke to my heart like truth. I shedded grateful tears as I knew and understood the lyrics were spot on. My list of old songs grew with every click of the mouse and I rediscovered Walter Hawkins, the Georgia Mass Choir, the Canton Spirituals and many others. I had an unbelievable experience, praising God all the while listening and screaming theses songs out loud. The songs sounded like true praise and worship. There was no confusion about who they were singing to or who they were talking about. The target was clear.

Now, can I honestly say the same for the “new” gospel? Relax, I’ll be fair.

I’ll admit that some of the new songs have tickled my ear. I have found myself bouncing to the beat or singing the songs. Catchy tunes tend to have that effect on people. I have also found a few songs that moved me like the old school songs did. I repeat, a few.

But, it’s hard to call it worship when I’m rapping about how I can write checks because I’m so blessed and how God is in me. I use to try it too. I blame my confusion on Kirk Franklin for starting this “movement”. When he came out with Stomp, I was a little girl. I thought it was the coolest thing a preacher had ever done. Finally, the music was for us too! I would blast it and dance around and shake my butt, trying to make myself believe that I was praising God. But I wasn’t. I was playing right into the devil’s hand. How could I have possibly believed that my gyrating was worship? It doesn’t make sense. But it is the job of the enemy to confuse us.

Colossians 2:4 And this I say, lest any man should beguile you with enticing words.

It is his mission to take the truth and spin it into a lie. It is his task to make us believe that we are right when he knows (and so do we if we take the time to examine) that we are so wrong.

 Before you blow a fuse, I’m not saying that I don’t like Kirk Franklin’s music. He does have some songs that I enjoy hearing. Stomp isn’t one of them. But, I do have a few of his “old school” songs on my Ipod.

Let’s move on. Can we discuss lyrics? They should be clear, not vague. It should be evident that the song is a worship song. There is no such thing as a universal appeal. Either you are an ambassador for Christ or you’re not.

 1 Corinthians 2:4 And my speech and my preaching was not with enticing words of man’s wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power:

Read these lyrics from BeBe and CeCe Winan’s Close to You.

(BeBe) sunshine, moonlight, delight just a couple words describing who You are.
lovely, so lovely – want everyone to know why I’m in love with you

(CeCe) patient and strong, always, no matter what I face you’ve been there to bring me through.
just fine (right on) on time, it took a while to see that Your love was true.

Do you believe that this is a “gospel” song? Seriously?

Compare it to this one.

Thank You for saving a sinner like me
To tell the world salvation is free
There were times when I
I just didn’t do right
But you you, you watched over me
Both day and night

See the difference. Neither one mentioned the name of Jesus or even God. But it is clear to me which one is a worship song. The first one could pass for pass for a song on a love story soundtrack. I think that is the intention. If so, do you think God really wants to share praise that is supposed to be devoted to Him with someone else. After all, the Bible does say God is a jealous God.

What is the point in making a “gospel” song if it does not sing praises to God? It isn’t to evangelize or the encourage and to edify. It is simply to gain exposure and the more exposure means more money. And I might add that a lot of “Christian” artists are not Christian at all. This is just the genre they have chosen because it is the most popular at the time. They know they can sell to unsuspecting, trusting and desperate Christians. Wake up my beloved brothers and sisters!

Galatians 1:10 For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

Alright, let’s get funky! At least that’s what some churches might as well say. Have you ever been to a church and forgot it was church? The music reminded you of rock or rap concert and you just lost yourself in the music. You have no idea what they are on that stage saying but hey, they sound good! Rock on!

Does the phrase subliminal messaging mean anything to you? Oh, he is a sly one, that devil! While you’re screaming “Jesus rocks!”, old Lucifer is planting the idea into your head that it is okay to appeal to the younger ones through song. Let’s not forget Lucifer’s job before he was kicked out of heaven. Music! He was a master at it. He was so talented that he was in charge of the heavenly choir. He knows what he is doing. So, we rock and roll, rap and duet, our new Christian songs while the devil is slowly removing God from our praise and worship.

Don’t believe me? Refer to lyric #1.

Ephesians 5: 19-20 Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord;

Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ

If the song that you are singing along with can also pass for a love song, you may want to put it away. We cannot serve two masters. If it is for God, it is solely for Him. If it is for your lover, it is for your lover.

I am not putting down today’s gospel, Christian, etc. music. Nor am I saying that all new music is satanic. There may be a good spiritual song out there. But, we’ll have to dig. Be aware of what you’re listening to. It may sound good but that doesn’t mean that it is good for you.

